Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 7, Verse 12

ये चैव सात्विका भावा राजसास्तामसाश्च ये |
मत्त एवेति तान्विद्धि न त्वहं तेषु ते मयि || 12||

ye chaiva sāttvikā bhāvā rājasās tāmasāśh cha ye
matta eveti tān viddhi na tvahaṁ teṣhu te mayi

yewhatever; chaand; evacertainly; sāttvikāḥin the mode of goodness; bhāvāḥstates of material existence; rājasāḥin the mode of passion; tāmasāḥin the mode of ignorance; chaand; yewhatever; mattaḥfrom me; evacertainly; itithus; tānthose; viddhiknow; nanot; tubut; ahamI; teṣhuin them; tethey; mayiin me


BG 7.12: The three states of material existence—goodness, passion, and ignorance—are manifested by my energy. They are in me, but I am beyond them.


Having described his glories in the previous four verses, Shree Krishna now sums them up in this verse. He effectively says, “Arjun, I have explained how I am the essence of all objects. But there is no point in going into details. All good, bad, and ugly objects and states of existence are made possible only by my energy.”

Although all things emanate from God, yet he is independent of them and beyond everything. Alfred Tennyson expressed this in his famous poem “In Memorium:”

Our little systems have their day;

They have their day and cease to be.

They are but broken lights of thee,

And thou, O Lord, art more than they.