Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 7, Verse 15

न मां दुष्कृतिनो मूढा: प्रपद्यन्ते नराधमा: |
माययापहृतज्ञाना आसुरं भावमाश्रिता: || 15||

na māṁ duṣhkṛitino mūḍhāḥ prapadyante narādhamāḥ
māyayāpahṛita-jñānā āsuraṁ bhāvam āśhritāḥ

nanot; māmunto me; duṣhkṛitinaḥthe evil doers; mūḍhāḥthe ignorant; prapadyantesurrender; nara-adhamāḥone who lazily follows one’s lower nature; māyayāby God’s material energy; apahṛita jñānāḥthose with deluded intellect; āsuramdemoniac; bhāvamnature; āśhritāḥsurrender


BG 7.15: Four kinds of people do not surrender unto me—those ignorant of knowledge, those who lazily follow their lower nature though capable of knowing me, those with deluded intellect, and those with a demoniac nature.


Shree Krishna has given four categories of people who do not surrender to God:

1) The ignorant. These are the people who are bereft of spiritual knowledge. They are unaware of their identity as the eternal soul, the goal of life, which is God-realization, and the process of surrendering to the Lord with loving devotion. Their lack of knowledge prevents them from surrendering to God.

2) Those who lazily follow their lower nature. These are people who do have basic spiritual knowledge and are aware of what they are supposed to do. However, they do not put in the effort to surrender, out of the force of inertia of their lower nature. This laziness in exerting oneself to act according to the religious principles is a big pitfall on the path of spirituality. There is a Sanskrit saying:

ālasya hī manuṣhyāṇāṁ śharīrastho mahān ripuḥ

nāstyudyamasamo bandhuḥ kṛitvā yaṁ nāvasīdati [v15]

“Laziness is a big enemy, and it resides in our body itself. Work is a good friend of humans, which never leads to downfall.”

3) Those with deluded intellect. These are people who are very proud of their intellects. If they hear the teachings of the saints and the scriptures, they are not willing to accept them with faith. However, not all spiritual truths are immediately evident. First we need to have faith in the process and begin the practice for only then can we understand the teachings through realization. Those who refuse to have faith in anything that is not evident to them in the present, refuse to surrender to God, who is beyond sense perception. Shree Krishna puts these people in the third category.

4) Those with a demoniac nature. These are the people who know there is a God, but work in evil and diametrically opposite ways to thwart God’s purpose in the world. Because of a demoniac nature, they hate the nature of God’s revealed personality. They are unable to stand anyone singing his glories or engaging in his devotion. Quite obviously, such people do not surrender to God.